Revealed!!! Why Top Nigerian Superstar Artistes Shunned The 2016 Headies Awards Show

By Jennifer Ajimande December 23, 2016 14:46

Revealed!!! Why Top Nigerian Superstar Artistes Shunned The 2016 Headies Awards Show

The Headies, one of Nigeria’s prestigious music awards, through the years, has been dubbed as Nigeria’s Grammy Awards.

The awards is an annual event held to celebrate Nigerian artistes, for their efforts and contributions in the music industry, not just for the year in view, but through the years.

Favorite artistes including fans, have held the awards in high esteem, judging from the successes it has recorded in the last 10 Editions.

From the least, to the most esteemed nomination, stars are always enthusiastic about the event, as they all want to be a part of the show.

Sadly, the awards show presently, is fast losing its prestige, as it has been fraught with several allegations and controversies, ranging from favouritism, prejudgment, and being compromised.

Ahead of the 2016 awards, Nigerian music sensation and TripleMG artiste, Tekno, was disqualified from the highly coveted “Next Rated” category.

Tekno, according to organisers of The Headies, was disqualified because he refused to participate in the required pre-award promotional activities, like photoshoots and interviews.

His attitude towards the awards show comes as no surprise. He had written off his nomination, shortly after it was announced, posting on Instagram that: “Next rated after how many years! Let’s be honest pls”.

Also, Singer, Solidstar, has also condemned The Headies awards organisers, for their bias nominations list. “Headies Awards is nothing, but crap!”, he wrote in a recent post. Recall, that last year, the Singer had complained about being nominated in only two categories at the 2015 Headies – best music video, and best reggae/dancehall single, saying he deserves more.

The 11th Edition of the most coveted music awards in Nigeria, was held last night, at the Eko Convention Center, Victoria Island, Lagos, which saw Kiss Daniel clinch three awards, out of the five categories he was nominated in.

Nollywood actress, Adesua Etomi, and artiste, Falz, anchored the awards show. And in his usual style, Falz thrilled guests with his sense of humour, as he imitated snap chat celeb and cross dresser Bobrisky, to the amusement of the crowd.

Other stars of the night, were indigenous rapper, Ill Bliss, and sensational singer, Darey Art Alade.

According to news reports, the awards show was Ill Bliss’ highest ever in the history of The Headies.

On the other hand, Starboy Wizkid, the man of the year, walked away with the coveted ‘Artiste of the Year’ trophy, and in his speech, he said he is just beginning.

“Make una tell them say Wizkid just dey start, dem never see nothing”, he said as he wrapped up his speech. While Olamide won ‘Best Rap Single’ and ‘Best Streethop’.

With the 2016 Headies come and gone, leaving in its trails and remarkable memories, one thing clearly stood out at the glamourous event;‎ the fact that some Nigerian artistes boycotted the awards.

Notable absentees were the entire members of Mavin Records, and YBNL Records, led by Don Jazzy and Olamide respectively. Don Jazzy and Olamide had a bitter spat at the previous edition.

Their non appearance was so glaring, with numerous nominees and awardees absent at the awards.

According to sources, presenters had to collect the awards on their behalf, backstage.

Simi, also failed to claim her award for “Best Vocal Performance”, while Kiss Daniel failed to claim an award, and so did rapper, Illbliss.

‎Patoranking who won the Best Reggae/Dancehall single was absent, and Olamide, who won two awards, was equally nowhere to be seen.

Popular, Video Director, Clarence Peters, also condemned the organisers for ignoring some of his colleagues. Even though he won the “Best Video” last night; he maintained that the best works of the year were not recognised.

The absence of these winners, coupled with low quality production, are among the pitfalls that have trailed the 2016 edition of the awards.

Here is the full list of winners;

Best video

Clarence Peters (Soldier)

Best R& B/Pop album

Kiss Daniel (New Era)

Best R&B

Darey Art-Alade

Recording of the Year

Darey Art-Alade (Pray For Me)

Hip Hop World revelation

Kiss Daniel

Lyricist on the Roll

Ill Bliss

Best Rap Single

Olamide (Eyan Mayweather)

Best Rap Album

Ill Bliss

Best Streethop


Special Recognition Award


Album of the Year

Kiss Daniel

Artiste of the Year


Next Rated( the most keenly contested)

Mr Eazi



Best Alternative song

Bez: You suppose know

Best Vocal Performance (female)


Producer of the Year

Young John

Hall of Fame

Laolu Akins

Best Vocal Performance (Male)


Best Collaboration

Falz featuring Simi – Soldier

Best Pop Single

Reggea Blues – Harrysong ft Olamide, Orezi, Iyanya, KCee