Senators withdraw vote of confidence on Saraki

By Cynthia Ferdinand October 1, 2015 17:03

Senators withdraw vote of confidence on Saraki

More Senators for unknown reasons, have withdrawn the vote of confidence given to the leadership of Senate; Senate President, Bukola Saraki and his Deputy, Ike Ekweremadu barely 48 hours after pledging fealty.

The Chairman, Senate Committee on Business and Rules, Babajide Omowarare backed out few minutes after the motion was raised reducing the initial number of 84 to 83 Senators.

Sabo Mohammed Nakudu representing Jigawa South-West Senatorial District and number 41 on the list Published on Tuesday by POST-NIGERIA has also purportedly withdrawn his endorsement.

See: Marafa disgraced as Senate passes vote of confidence on Saraki

Nakudu in a press statement said to have been personally signed by him, on Wednesday, stated he was not consulted before his name was included in the names of Senators who signed the vote of confidence on Tuesday.

However, in what looked like a quick retreat, Nakudu said he wants to assure his constituents and the general public that he is a loyal party man committed to the All Progressives Congress, APC.

This is hitting against Dino Melaye’s statement, who spoke on behalf of the Senate after plenary on that Tuesday.

Melaye, affirmed that 83 senators has expressed confidence in the leadership of the 8th Senate by endorsing it’s leadership adding that the figure could have been 91 if all the senators were present.

See: Ministerial List: Saraki spits fire, says Buhari will not have it…

The list had the names of 48 Senators from the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP and 35 from the majority APC. With these new developments however, only 82 Senators have endorsed the incumbent leadership of the 8th Senate, with only 33 from the APC.

See: Nobody, not even Presidency can pull Saraki down – Senators

See a copy of Senator Nakudu’s purported statement below:


See previous list of senators who endorsed:

Vote of confidence of Senate officers of the senate