UPDATE: #TheList: ‎PDP Senators set to stall screening

By Cynthia Ferdinand October 6, 2015 11:29

UPDATE: #TheList: ‎PDP Senators set to stall screening

The Senate on Tuesday read out the incomplete list of ministerial nominees as received from President Muhammadu Buhari last Wednesday for screening and approval by the Red Chamber‎.

The 21-man list according to President Buhari was a partial list which will soon be followed by the complete list of other nominees for screening as Ministers.

Senators of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, through a point of order, however kicked against the presentation of an incomplete list by the President.

The letter expressed Buhari’s willingness to send the remaining names of ministerial nominees as soon as possible.

Minority Leader of the Senate, Senator Godswill Akpabio said that the President should have sent a complete list so that all States would have been represented.

Other PDP Senators also moved to oppose the presentation of an incomplete list but the President of the Senate Bukola Saraki only noted his observation as the Senate proceeded with other businesses.

However, Saraki said that the screening of the ministerial nominees will begin on Tuesday October 13.

This clearly indicates that the screening exercise may not go well with Senators of PDP extraction.

With this slight hiccup, the drama in the eventual screening and confirming of Ministerial nominees could see a long and drawn out conclusion.


Senate President Bukola Saraki has said the screening of the long awaited ministerial list will not take effect before Thursday October 8 after the unveiling of the list today.

Saraki who spoke through the Senate Spokesperson, Dino Melaye stressed that the Senate Leader Ali Ndume will present the ministerial list as an executive bill on Wednesday.

Saraki last Wednesday received the list of Ministerial nominees sent to the Senate for screening by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The list was submitted in a sealed envelope by Chief of Staff to the President, Alhaji Abba Kyari and Senator Ita Enang, Senior Special Assistant to the President on Legislative Matters (Senate).

Saraki has, following the tradition of the Senate, decided to open the envelope and read out the names to his colleagues on Tuesday, October 6, during the plenary sitting of the Upper legislative chamber.

See: When to expect reading of the ministerial list – Saraki

While speaking Dino said; “The screening of the Ministers cannot take place before Thursday, because the leader of the house will have to submit the list to the hallowed chamber as an executive bill, hopefully tomorrow.”

The names of the unveiled ministers are Kayode Fayemi, Lai Muhammed, Babatunde Fashola, Cletus Ibeto, and Rotimi Ameachi.

Others are Abubakar Malami, Aburaman Dambazu, Aisha Alhasan, Adebayo Shittu, Fashola, Suleiman, Udoma Udoma, and Ibrahim Jubril, Audu Ogbeh, Chris Ngige among others.

Earlier Saraki assured Nigerians that screening of the Ministers will be backed with strict measures and due diligence as the sole goal of the 8th Senate is to serve the people.

    “In our Screening of the Ministers it will not be business as usual, the years and days of take a bow and go are over, in the interest of Nigeria we will carry out due diligence to make sure that the right people are appointed Ministers of the Federal Republic of Nigeria without any political religious ethnic or personal consideration.”

See: Ministerial List: Saraki spits fire, says Buhari will not have it easy

Below is a full breakdown of the list based on states represented:

Chris Ngige – Anambra

Kayode Fayemi – Ekiti , Rotimi Amaechi – Rivers

Babatunde Fashola – Lagos

Abdulrahman Danbazau – Kano

Aisha Alhassan – Taraba

Ogbonaya Onu – Abia

Kemi Adeosun – Ogun

Abubakar Malami – Kebbi

Hadi Sirika – Katsina

Adebayo Shittu – Oyo

Suleiman Adam – Jigawa

Solomon Dalong – Plateau

Ibe Kachikwu – Delta

Osagie Ehanire – Edo

Audu Ogbeh – Benue

Lai Mohammed – Kwara

Ahmed Isa Ibeto – Niger

Amina Mohammed – Kaduna

From the list above, 18 states have been left out including the representatives for the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.

More later…